Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

U.A.E. Derby

Race Name Grade Track ?
U.A.E. Derby 2 Nad Al Sheba Racecourse U.A.E. Derby

U.A.E. Derby

The U.A.E. Derby is an annual horserace run in late March on dirt over 1800m (+- 9 furlongs) at Dubai's Nad Al Sheba Racecourse in the United Arab Emirates. A Gr 2 race for three-year-old thoroughbreds, it is always run on Dubai World Cup Night and boasts a purse of $2 million.

Inaugurated in 2000, the U.A.E. Derby was awarded its Gr 2 status in 2002. It is a race open to three-year-old colts and fillies from the Southern and Northern Hemisphere. Entrants are required to carry 59kg and 55kg in weight respectively, while fillies can carry 2kg less.

American racehorse trainers are especially fond of the U.A.E. Derby because it acts as an ideal preparatory race for the U.S. Triple Crown series of races. While the U.A.E. Derby was launched less than a decade ago, it has yielded loads of exciting racing action and deserving winners.

These include China Visit, who won the inaugural U.A.E. Derby with Richard Hills aboard for trainer Saeed bin Suroor (for Godolphin Racing). 2001 winner Express Tour ridden by David Flores for Saeed bin Suroor (for Godolphin Racing) still holds the record for the race's fastest time with a time of 1:47.04.

Saeed bin Suroor and Godolphin Racing have chalked up the most wins in the U.A.E. Derby with five each - in 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005 and 2006. Top UK jockey Frankie Dettori has notched up two wins (in 2002 and 2006) as has South African jockey Weichong Marwing (in 2004 and 2007).

U.A.E. Derby - Past Winners

2004 Lundy's Liability
2005 Blues and Royals
2006 Discreet Cat
2007 Asiatic Boy
2008 Honour Devil

U.A.E. Derby - Betting

U.A.E. Derby

U.A.E. Derby

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Dubai Sheema Classic
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Dubai Golden Shaheen
  • Godolphin Mile
  • Prix Royal Oak
  • Prix de l'Abbaye de Longchamp
  • Prix Marcel Boussac
  • Prix de l'Opera

  • 2014/02/16 01:16:11 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011