Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Toorak Handicap

Race Name Grade Track
Toorak Handicap 1 Caulfield Racecourse AJC Metropolitan Handicap

Toorak Handicap

The Toorak Handicap is a Gr 1 Australian open handicap horserace entered by three-year-olds and above over 1600m in early October each year at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. It offers a purse of AUD$350,000 and is an integral part of the Caulfield Spring Racing Carnival, along with the Caulfield Cup.

Inaugurated in 1881, the Toorak Handicap has been run over many distances. From 1881 until 1890 it was raced over 8 furlongs. In 1891 it was contested over 9 furlongs, while from 1892 until 1971 it was once again run over 8 furlongs. From 1972 until now, it has been run over 1600m.

In addition to its race distance, the Toorak Handicap has undergone more than a few name changes. From 1881 until 1980 it was called the Toorak Handicap, but from 1981 until 1984 it was renamed 'The IXL'. In 1985 it was changed to 'The Elders Mile' until 1989. In 1990, however, it was changed back to the Toorak.

Run on Guineas day, the Toorak Handicap shares a race card with the 1600m Caulfield Guineas (Gr 1) and the 2000m Yalumba Stakes (Gr 1). Traditionally, each year the Toorak Handicap attracts good quality runners, although more so sprinters than stayers. As such, many fine sprinters have won this race.

Some of the more celebrated include The Trump in 1937, Royal Gem in 1946, Gunsynd in 1971 and Roman Arch in 2003. In 2006 Roman Arch won the prestigious Australian Cup, despite going into the race a 60-1 longshot.

Toorak Handicap - Past Winners

2004 Regal Roller
2005 Barely A Moment
2006 Red Dazzler
2007 Divine Madonna
2008 Alamosa

Toorak Handicap - Betting

Toorak Handicap preview

Toorak Handicap preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Winter Stakes
  • WATC Derby
  • Underwood Stakes
  • The Thousand Guineas
  • The Galaxy
  • The Doomben Cup
  • The Doomben 10,000

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:50 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011