Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

The Thousand Guineas

Race Name Grade Track
The Thousand Guineas 1 Caulfield Racecourse The Thousand Guineas

The Thousand Guineas

The Thousand Guineas is a Gr 1 Australian horse race at set weights for three-year-old fillies contested over 1600m in October every year at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. The race offers a purse of AUD$500,000 and is considered the filly equivalent of the Caulfield Guineas for colts and geldings.

As such, the Thousand Guineas is the premier race for fillies in Caulfield's annual spring racing carnival, and rarely fails to attract bumper crowds to Caulfield eager to watch many of Melbourne's top fillies compete. Inaugurated in 1946, the Thousand Guineas has become one of Australia's most prestigious post-WWII races.

From 1946 until 1971 the Thousand Guineas was contested over 8 furlongs (roughly 1600m). In 1972 (after Australia converted to the metric system) the race distance was officially changed to 1600m. From its inception until 1978, the Thousand Guineas was run as a Principle race and from 1979 until now as a Gr 1.

These days the race is run on the Wednesday after the Caulfield Guineas, which is run on the previous Saturday. Until 1987 the race was contested on Caulfield Cup Day, but in 1988 it was moved to the Wednesday (the middle day) of the Caulfield Cup Carnival. The race has yielded many worth winner over the years.

These include 2004 Thousand Guineas victor, Alinghi, who sired by Encosta de Lago out of Oceanfast went on to become one of the few fillies to win the auspicious Newmarket Handicap. In her illustrious career she earned over AUD$3.4 million.

The Thousand Guineas - Past Winners

2004 Alinghi
2005 Mnemosyne
2006 Miss Finland
2007 Serious Speed
2008 Gallica

The Thousand Guineas - Betting

The Thousand Guineas preview

The Thousand Guineas preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Winter Stakes
  • WATC Derby
  • Underwood Stakes
  • Toorak Handicap
  • The Galaxy
  • The Doomben Cup
  • The Doomben 10,000
  • The BTC Cup

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:49 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011