Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

The Prince of Wales's Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Prince of Wales's Stakes 1 Ascot Racecourse Prince of Wales's Stakes

Prince of Wales's Stakes

The Prince of Wales's Stakes is a flat, Group 1 horse race that takes place in the UK. The race is open to thoroughbred horses of 4-years or older. The race is run over a mile and a quarter (10 furlongs) and is held at Ascot Racecourse in June. It is run on the second day of the Royal festival and is the most prestigious race on the card for that day.

The first Prince of Wales's Stakes took place in 1862 and derives its name in honor of the Prince of Wales. Originally the race took place over a distance of 13 furlongs and was open to 3-year-olds and above.

During the World War II period the race was not run and it was only reinstated in 1968.

Prince of Wales's Stakes Racecourse


Ascot Racecourseconsists of two tracks, one for flat racing and the other for chase and hurdles races. The latter is a relatively new addition to the proud history of the racecourse, with the first National Hunt races taking place in 1965. Contrast that to the first flat race at Ascot, which was held in 1711! The Ascot racecourse was the brainchild of Queen Anne, and she sponsored the first race ever held there - Her Majesty's Plate - with a prize of 100 guineas to the winner.

Ascot Racecourse

Prince of Wales's Stakes - Past Winners

2002 Grandera
2003 Nayef
2004 Rakti
2005 Azamour
2006 Ouija Board

The Prince of Wales's Stakes - Betting

Prince of Wales's Stakes

Prince of Wales's Stakes

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes
  • Irish Champion Stakes
  • The Golden Jubilee Stakes
  • The Coronation Stakes
  • The Queen Anne Stakes
  • The Queen Elizabeth II Stakes
  • King George VI Chase
  • The Cheltenham Gold Cup

  • 2014/02/16 01:15:09 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011