Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

The J&B Met

Race Name Grade Track
The J&B Met 1 Kenilworth Racecourse J&B Met

J&B Met

One of South Africa's most prestigious horseraces, the J&B Met is a handicap that is also a huge social event in Cape Town, and one of the highlights of summer in January. The race typically attracts the best horses in the country and has been won in the past by genuine superstars, most notably the world class SA racehorse Horse Chestnut, who demolished his rivals by a distance in the Met of 1999.

Other famous winners of this race include Wolf Power, Empress Club, and London News. The J&B Met is a Grade 1 race with a current purse of R1.75 million.

J&B Met Racecourse


The J&B Met is run at Kenilworth racecourse over a distance of 10 furlongs (2000m). It is a left-turn turf course where the draw is fairly important over this distance, but not critical.

Kenilworth is now operated by Gold Circle, a company that organizes thoroughbred racing in Kwazulu-Natal and the Cape province. The Vodacom Durban July is also staged by Gold Circle.

J&B Met
The J&B Met is run in a carnival atmosphere as Kenilworth racecourse is besieged by thousands of trendy Capetonians as well as holiday-makers from around the world, who come to Cape Town in January. If you are visiting South Africa as a tourist then the J&B Met is a must-see event.

J&B Met - Past Winners

2003 Angus
2004 Yard Arm
2005 Alastor
2006 Zebra Crossing
2007 Pocket Power

Other Articles:
  • Canadian International Stakes
  • Grosser Preis von Baden
  • Hong Kong Cup
  • Japan Cup
  • Durban July Handicap
  • Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe
  • Dubai World Cup

  • 2014/02/16 01:16:40 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011