Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

The Galaxy

Race Name Grade Track
The Galaxy 1 Randwick Racecourse The Galaxy

The Galaxy

The Galaxy is a Gr 1 Australian open handicap thoroughbred horse race held in April each year over a distance of 1100m at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. At its current distance, The Galaxy is considered a sprint and thus attracts quick runners.? In 2009, the purse of the race was AUD$350,000.

Although an exciting race, it is often dwarfed by the more popular AJC Australian Derby (Gr 1), which is run on the same day at Randwick. Inaugurated in 1972, over the years The Galaxy has yielded its fair share of deserving winners, including Bletchingly in 1975, Schillaci in 1992, and more recently Typhoon Ted in 2008.

Bletchingly, by Biscay out of Coogee, peaked as a four-year-old that year, showcasing his undeniable talent as a sprinter when he romped home victorious in The Galaxy. While he won few races after that, he went on to become one of Australia's most successful sires, reportedly siring 61 individual Group winners.

The winner of the 1992 Galaxy, Schillaci, also went on to bigger and better things. Trained by trainer Len Freedman, Schillaci chalked up many victories including the VRC Lightning Stakes (Gr 1) and the VATC Futurity Stakes (Gr 1) in 1993. During his career, he won 16 races from 36 starts and earned over $2,3 million.

Many Australian trainers keen to enter their quickest charges in The Galaxy, make use of the 1000m Challenge Stakes (Gr 2) and the 1100m Star Kingdom Stakes (Gr 2) as suitable prep races.

The Galaxy - Past Winners

2005 Charge Forward
2006 Proprietor
2007 Magnus
2008 Typhoon Zed
2009 Nicconi Typhoon Ted won The Galaxy in 2008, delivering arguably one of the most impressive victories in recent years.

The Galaxy - Betting

The Galaxy preview

The Galaxy preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • WATC Derby
  • Underwood Stakes
  • Toorak Handicap
  • The Thousand Guineas
  • The Doomben Cup
  • The Doomben 10,000
  • The BTC Cup
  • T J Smith Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:50 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011