Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

The Doomben 10,000

Race Name Grade Track
The Doomben 10,000 1 Doomben Racecourse The Doomben 10,000

The Doomben 10,000

The Doomben 10,000 is a Gr 1 Australian weight-for-age horserace contested in May every year at Doomben Racecourse in Brisbane over 1350m. It currently offers a purse of AUD$650,000 on top of a trophy worth AUD$6,600. The 1200m BTC Cup run two weeks earlier is considered a prep race for this race.

Inaugurated in 1933, the race was called the T.M. Ahearn Memorial. Some years later it was renamed the Doomben 10,000 on account of its 10,000 pound purse.? Then, the Doomben 10,000 was famous for being Australia's most lucrative sprint. Today it is not, but is no less revered by its fans.

The Doomben 10,000 never fails to attract bumper crowds to Doomben Racecourse as it is the premier race of the yearly Brisbane winter racing carnival. The race is also usually contested by many of the leading weight-for-age gallopers in the land and, more often than not, is an exhilarating and nail-biting affair.

Over the years there have been some notable Doomben 10,000 victors. These include Baguette, who won the race in 1971. He also won the coveted STC Canterbury Stakes, STC Hill Stakes and AJC George Main Stakes in the same year. The year before, he won the auspicious Golden Slipper Stakes.

More recently, 2007 winner Takeover Target has to date won eight Gr 1 races and earned over AUD$6 million in earnings. 2008 Doomben 10,000 winner, Apache Cat, also has a string of Gr 1 wins to his name, including the 2008 and 2009 Australia Stakes.

The Doomben 10,000 - Past Winners

2004 Super Elegant
2005 Red Oog
2006 Undue
2007 Takeover Target
2008 Apache Cat

The Doomben 10,000 - Betting

The Doomben 10,000 preview

The Doomben 10,000 preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Toorak Handicap
  • The Thousand Guineas
  • The Galaxy
  • The Doomben Cup
  • The BTC Cup
  • T J Smith Stakes
  • Sydney Cup
  • Stradbroke Handicap

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:49 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011