Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

The BTC Cup

Race Name Grade Track
The BTC Cup 1 Doomben Racecourse The BTC Cup

The BTC Cup

The BTC Cup is a Gr 1 Australian weight-for-age horserace that is contested in May every year over 1200m at Doomben Racecourse in Brisbane. In 2008, the BTC Cup offered a purse of AUD$400,000. Inaugurated in 1983, the BTC Cup is the first Gr 1 race of the annual Brisbane winter racing carnival.

As a weight-for-age race, the BTC Cup attracts talented fields containing many talented gallopers of different age groups from Brisbane and from other Australian states. As part of the winter racing carnival, the race usually draws large crowds, and offers trainers the chance to showcase their top runners.

Since its inception, the BTC Cup has yielded many fine winners, some of them going on to win other auspicious races in Australia. As such, many trainers treat the BTC Cup as a prep race for the 1350m Doomben 10,000 (Gr 1), which is considered to be Brisbane Turf Club's top sprint race.

The 2008 winner of the BTC Cup, Apache Cat, is one such horse that went on to win the Doomben 10,000 in fine style. Sired by Lion Cavern out of Tennesssee Blaze, Apache Cat has been a force to be reckoned with throughout his career. Trained by Greg Eurell, the chestnut gelding has notched up seven Gr 1 wins.

These include the Cadbury Guineas in 2006, the Lightning Stakes in 2008, the Australia Stakes in 2008 and 2009, and the T J Smith Stakes in 2008, over and above his BTC Cup and Doomben 10,000 triumphs.

The BTC Cup - Past Winners

2004 Thorn Park
2005 Spark Of Life
2006 Gee I Jane
2007 Bentley Biscuit
2008 Apache Cat

The BTC Cup - Betting

The BTC Cup preview

The BTC Cup preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • The Thousand Guineas
  • The Galaxy
  • The Doomben Cup
  • The Doomben 10,000
  • T J Smith Stakes
  • Sydney Cup
  • Stradbroke Handicap
  • Spring Champion Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:49 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011