Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

The Breeders Cup Classic

Race Name Grade Track
The Breeders Cup Classic 1 Varies Annually The Breeders' Cup Classic

The Breeders' Cup Classic

The Breeders' Cup Classic is a Grade 1 thoroughbred weight for age horse race, and is widely regarded as one of the most important races in the world. The race is open to horses of three years of age or older and run over a mile and a quarter (10 furlongs) on a dirt track. The race takes place yearly at a different North American racetrack as part of the Breeders' Cup. Churchill Downs hosted the 2006 race, and the 2007 Breeders Cup will be held at Monmouth Park.

The Breeders' Cup Classic is the second biggest race in the world in terms of stakes money with a purse of $5 million (the Dubai World Cup is worth $6 million) and if the winner is an American-based horse he tends to be crowned as the U.S. Horse of the Year.

This race is incredibly tough to handicap, and is still remembered for producing the biggest upset in Breeders Cup history when a 135/1 rank outsider by the name of Arcangues won the race back in 1993.

The Breeders' Cup Classic - Past Winners

2002 Volponi
2003 Pleasantly Perfect
2004 Ghostzapper
2005 Saint Liam
2006 Invasor

The Breeders Cup Classic - Betting

The Breeders' Cup Classic

The Breeders' Cup Classic

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Breeders' Cup Juvenile
  • Stephen Foster Handicap
  • Breeders Cup Turf
  • Arlington Million
  • The Travers Stakes
  • Santa Anita Handicap
  • Kentucky Oaks
  • Jockey Club Gold Cup

  • 2014/02/16 01:07:25 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011