Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

T J Smith Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
T J Smith Stakes 1 Randwick Racecourse T J Smith Stakes

T J Smith Stakes

The T J Smith Stakes is a Gr 1 Australian Weight for Age horse race run in April each year over 1200m at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, and currently carries a lucrative purse of AUD$500,000.

The race was named after Tommy J. Smith, the legendary Australian racehorse trainer who won many of the country's top races, including the Melbourne Cup, the Golden Slipper, the W.S. Cox Plate, the Caulfield Cup and many more.

The T J Smith Stakes was inaugurated in 1998, the same year that Tommy J. Smith passed away. The race was run in 1996 and 1997, but it was then called the Endeavour Stakes and was listed in 1997. In the 1998 T J Smith Stakes, an extremely quick thoroughbred called Baraka proved triumphant.

In 1998, the T J Smith Stakes was listed as a Gr 3 race and in 2002 it was awarded its Gr 2 listing. In 2005 it received its prestigious Gr 1 listing, earning its rightful place as an important race in Sydney's annual horseracing calendar. From then until now, the race has yielded some superb winners, including 2008 victor, Apache Cat.

Trained by Greg Eurell, Apache Cat is a talented gelding who during 2008 chalked up wins in some of Australia's premier Gr 1 races including the Lightning Stakes, the Australia Stakes, the BTC Cup and the Doomben 10,000. Despite four losses in his 2009 season, Apache Cat bounced back in February 2009 to win the Australia Stakes for the second time.

T J Smith Stakes - Past Winners

2004 Dilly Dally
2005 Shamekha
2006 Red Oog
2007 Bentley Biscuit
2008 Apache Cat

T J Smith Stakes - Betting

T J Smith Stakes preview

T J Smith Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • The Galaxy
  • The Doomben Cup
  • The Doomben 10,000
  • The BTC Cup
  • Sydney Cup
  • Stradbroke Handicap
  • Spring Champion Stakes
  • South Australian Derby

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:48 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011