Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Sydney Cup

Race Name Grade Track
Sydney Cup 1 Randwick Racecourse Sydney Cup

Sydney Cup

The Sydney Cup is a Gr 1 Australian handicap run over 3200m in April each year at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney for thoroughbreds three-years-old and up. Part of the annual Randwick Autumn Carnival, the Sydney Cup is one of the feature races of the event. In 2008 the race carried a purse of AUD$800,000.

Like many races in Australia, the Sydney Cup has a rich and historical heritage as it dates all the way back to 1862. In fact, that year it was won by a horse called Talleyrand. Since then the Sydney Cup has attracted many of the strongest and quickest thoroughbreds from all over Australia, and is still a large crowd-pleaser.

Since its inauguration, the Sydney Cup has only been won by the same horse twice on five occasions - The Barb in 1868 and 1869, Carbine in 1889 and 1890, Mosaic in 1939 and 1940, Veiled Threat in 1942 and 1944 and most recently Tie The Knot in 1998 and 1999. Tie The Knot also won many other top races.

These include the Underwood Stakes in 1998; the Chipping Norton Stakes in 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2002; the BMW Stakes in 1999 and 2000; and the Ranvet Stakes in 2000 and 2001. Tie The Knot was also named Australian Champion Stayer in 2000, one of Australia's highest horse racing honors.

Another standout Sydney Cup winner is Makybe Diva, who won the race in 2004, and is the only Australian thoroughbred to win the Melbourne Cup three times.

Sydney Cup - Past Winners

2004 Makybe Diva
2005 Mahtoum
2006 County Tyrone
2007 Gallic
2008 No Wine No Song

Sydney Cup - Betting

Sydney Cup preview

Sydney Cup preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • The Doomben Cup
  • The Doomben 10,000
  • The BTC Cup
  • T J Smith Stakes
  • Stradbroke Handicap
  • Spring Champion Stakes
  • South Australian Derby
  • Robert Sangster Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:48 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011