Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Stradbroke Handicap

Race Name Grade Track
Stradbroke Handicap 1 Eagle Farm Racecourse Stradbroke Handicap

Stradbroke Handicap

The Stradbroke Handicap is a Gr 1 Australian open handicap horse race run in June every year at Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane. Contested over 1400m, the race currently offers a purse of AUD$1,000,000. Inaugurated in 1890, the Stradbroke Handicap is the premier race of the Brisbane winter carnival.

In fact, it is considered to be one of the most prestigious events in the annual Queensland horse racing calendar. The Stradbroke Handicap was named after Lord Stradbroke, a relative of Admiral Rous, who was famous for designing - what was to become an integral part of horseracing - the weight for age scale.

Being one of Queensland's most popular handicap races, the race always attracts large numbers of spectators to Eagle Farm who are eager to wager on many of the state's best weight for age runners. Before 1953, the Stradbroke Handicap was contested over 6 furlongs (1200m).

Given its age and pedigree, the Stradbroke Handicap has yielded many notable winners, many of which won the big race two years running. These include Gold Tie (1921, 1922), Lucky Ring (1949, 1950) and Rough Habit (1991, 1992). Rough Habit was a talented bay gelding from New Zealand.

Over and above his Stradbroke Handicap victories, Rough Habit also won the Queensland Derby and Doomben Cup a record three times. In 1992 and 1995 he was named New Zealand Horse of the Year. But the most prolific Stradbroke Handicap winner is Not Held, who won the race in 1942, 1943, 1944 and 1945.

Stradbroke Handicap - Past Winners

2004 Thorn Park
2005 St. Basil
2006 La Montagna
2007 Sniper's Bullet
2008 Mr.Baritone

Stradbroke Handicap - Betting

Stradbroke Handicap preview

Stradbroke Handicap preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • The Doomben 10,000
  • The BTC Cup
  • T J Smith Stakes
  • Sydney Cup
  • Spring Champion Stakes
  • South Australian Derby
  • Robert Sangster Stakes
  • Queensland Oaks

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:48 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011