Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Spring Champion Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Spring Champion Stakes 1 Randwick Racecourse Spring Champion Stakes

Spring Champion Stakes

The Spring Champion Stakes is a Gr 1 Australian horse race contested by three-year-old thoroughbreds at set weights over 2000m in October each year at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. An integral part of the Sydney spring racing carnival, the race carries a purse of AUD$400,000.

The race was inaugurated in 1971, when it was won by Gay Icarus. Considered a leading middle-distance race, the Spring Champion Stakes regularly attracts top three-year-olds. Colts and geldings are required to carry 56.5kg while fillies must carry 54.5kg.

Trainers with an interest in the Spring Champion Stakes are known to prep their runners by entering them in one or both of two important lead-up races - the 1800m Gloaming Stakes (Gr 2) and the 2000m Dulcify Quality, at Randwick the week before.

A notable Spring Champion Stakes winner was Kingston Town in 1979, who went on to win the Sydney Cup, the Rosehill Guineas, the Cox Plate, the George Main Stakes, the Caulfield Stakes and many more. He was named Australian Champion Racehorse of the Year in 1980.

The 1989 Spring Champion Stakes winner, Stylish Century, also left his mark on Australian horse racing. He went on to win the VRC Victoria Derby, the VATC Caulfield Autumn Classic, the AJC Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the VATC Sandown Cup. During his career, he earned just over AUD$2.5 million.

In 2007, the Spring Champion Stakes was cancelled due to an outbreak of Equine Influenza. However, it was back in 2008, when it was won by Sousa.

Spring Champion Stakes - Past Winners

2004 Savabeel
2005 Hotel Grand
2006 Teranaba
2007 Race cancelled due Equine flu outbreak
2008 Sousa

Spring Champion Stakes - Betting

Spring Champion Stakes preview

Spring Champion Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • The BTC Cup
  • T J Smith Stakes
  • Sydney Cup
  • Stradbroke Handicap
  • South Australian Derby
  • Robert Sangster Stakes
  • Queensland Oaks
  • Goodwood Handicap

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:49 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011