Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Spinster Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Spinster Stakes 1 Keeneland Race Course Spinster Stakes

Spinster Stakes

The Spinster Stakes is an American Grade 1 flat horse race for three-year-old and up fillies and mares, and is run in early October annually in Lexington, Kentucky on Keeneland Race Course's Polytrack surface over a distance of 1 1/8 miles. The Spinster Stakes currently offers a purse of $500,000.

Inaugurated in 1956, the Spinster Stakes has enjoyed a long and rich heritage and has yielded some of America's top three-year-old fillies and mares. As part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge 'Win and You're In' series, the winner of the Spinster Stakes wins an automatic place in that year's Breeders' Cup Ladies' Classic.

The Spinster Stakes was run over dirt until 2006, the same year Keeneland officials replaced the track's dirt surface with the synthetic Polytrack. That year, Asi Siempre - ridden by top-rated jockey Julien Leparoux - won the Spinster Stakes. The new surface also yielded the race's fastest ever time of 1:46.77.

The record time was set in 2008 by the Shug McGaughey-trained Carriage Trail ridden by champion jockey Kent Desormeaux. When it was still run over dirt, two horses shared the fastest time of 1:47.00: Bayakoa in 1990 and Banshee Breeze in 1998 (ridden by Laffit Pincay Jr. and Robby Albarado respectively).

As for other records, jockeys Laffit Pincay Jr. and Pat Day have won the Spinster Stakes a record five times each, while two trainers have each celebrated four victories - Ron McAnally in 1989, 1990,1993 and 1996, and Claude R. 'Shug' McGaughey III in 1983, 1994, 1995 and 2008.

Spinster Stakes - Past Winners

2004 Azeri
2005 Pampered Princess
2006 Asi Siempre
2007 Panty Raid
2008 Carriage Trail

Spinster Stakes - Betting

Arlington Million preview

Arlington Million preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Withers Stakes
  • Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup Stakes
  • First Lady Stakes
  • Federico Tesio Stakes
  • Derby Trial Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:09:27 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011