Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

South Australian Derby

Race Name Grade Track
South Australian Derby 1 Morphettville Racecourse South Australian Derby

South Australian Derby

The South Australian Derby is a Gr 1 Australian race for three year old thoroughbreds contested at set weights over 2500m in April every year at Adelaide's Morphettville Racecourse. Currently the race offers a purse of AUD$325,400 and, prior to 2006, was run in May.

Inaugurated in 1860, the race will celebrate its 150th year anniversary in 2010. The South Australian Derby should not be confused with the Australian Derby, which is a different Gr 1 race contested by three-year-old thoroughbreds in either late March or early April at Sydney's Randwick Racecourse.

Like many of Australia's older races, the South Australian Derby has undergone some changes over the years. For example, from 1860 right up until 1971 it was contested over 12 furlongs (approximately 2400m). Then in 1972, 1978, 1979 and from 1986 until 2000 it was run over a distance of 2400m.

From 1973 until 1977, from 1981 until 1985, and from 2001 until the present, the South Australian Derby has been raced over its current distance of 2500m. For some unknown reason, in 1980 the race was run over 2600m, but was presumably found to be too great a distance for the field that year.

In 2003 the South Australian Derby was won by a talented gelding called Mummify trained by Lee Freedman. His promising career was tragically cut short when he had to be euthanized after breaking a leg during the 2005 Caulfield Cup. 2008 winner, Zarita, has gone on to forge a solid career for herself.

South Australian Derby - Past Winners

2004 Hard To Get
2005 Tails Of Triomphe
2006 Testafiable
2007 Lazer Sharp
2008 Zarita

South Australian Derby - Betting

South Australian Derby preview

South Australian Derby preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • T J Smith Stakes
  • Sydney Cup
  • Stradbroke Handicap
  • Spring Champion Stakes
  • Robert Sangster Stakes
  • Queensland Oaks
  • Goodwood Handicap
  • Manikato Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:48 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011