Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes

Race Name Grade Track ?
Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes 1 Keeneland Race Course Shadwell Turf Mile

Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes

The Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes is an American Grade 1 flat horse race for thoroughbred three-year-olds and up and is run over 1 mile on turf at Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, Kentucky. Inaugurated in 1986, the Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes is run every year in October and offers a $600,000 purse.

The Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes got its name from its sponsor Shadwell Farm in Kentucky, and is well known for attracting exceptionally strong fields of up-and-coming sprinters. As part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge 'Win and You're In ' program, the winner earns a guaranteed spot in the Breeders' Cup Mile.

When it was launched, the Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes was a listed race. In 1998 it received a Gr 3 listing which was upgraded to a Gr 2 listing in 1998. In 2002 the race received its Gr 1 rating. From 1986 until 1993 it was run over 1 1/8 miles and in 1994 was shortened to its current 1 mile distance.

In 2000, Altibr set the fastest time over 1 mile in the Shadwell in 1:33.72. Dumaani is the only horse to win the Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes twice (in 1995 and 1996), while top trainer Kiaran McLaughlin has three wins to his name (in 1995, 1996 and 2000).

In terms of jockey records, since the Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes was launched only three jockeys have won the race more than once - Jerry Bailey in 1986 and 2001, Julie Krone in 1995 and 1996, and Edgar Prado in 2002 and 2003.

Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes - Past Winners

2004 Nothing To Lose
2005 Host
2006 Aussie Rules
2007 Purim
2008 Thorn Song

Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes - Betting

Shadwell Turf Mile preview

Shadwell Turf Mile preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • El Camino Real Derby
  • Sam F. Davis Stakes
  • Frizette Stakes
  • Alcibiades Stakes
  • Norfolk Stakes
  • Oak Leaf Stakes
  • Vosburgh Stakes
  • Champagne Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:09:21 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011