Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Santa Anita Derby

Race Name Grade Track ?
Santa Anita Derby 1 Santa Anita Park Santa Anita Derby

Santa Anita Derby

The Santa Anita Derby is a prestigious American Gr 1 horserace for three-year-old thoroughbreds which is contested annually in April over 1 1/8 miles at California's popular horse racing venue, Santa Anita Park. With a purse of $750,000, it is one of the most important prep races for the Kentucky Derby.

Since its inauguration in 1935, the Santa Anita Derby has become one of California's most popular races amongst horseracing fans as well as owners, trainers and jockeys. As such, it regularly attracts many of the best three-year-olds from the West Coast and beyond, all eager to impress at Churchill Downs come May.

Over the years the Santa Anita Derby has yielded six Kentucky Derby winners - Determine (1954), Swaps (1955), Lucky Debonair (1965), Affirmed (1978), Winning Colors (1988) and Sunday Silence (1989). In 1935, 1936 and 1937 the race was contested over 1 1/16 miles and in 1947 over 1 1/4 miles.

Being an important race, and one of the most crucial ahead of the Kentucky Derby, the Santa Anita Derby has its own prep races (at Santa Anita Park) - the San Rafael Stakes, the San Miguel Stakes, the San Felipe Stakes, the Sham Stakes, the San Vicente Stakes and the Santa Catalina Stakes.

Lucky Debonair (1965), Sham (1973) and Indian Charlie (1998) - all share the fastest time in the Santa Anita Derby of 1:47.00. Jockey Gary Stevens has won the Santa Anita Derby a record three times as have trainers Bob Baffert and D. Wayne Lukas.

Santa Anita Derby - Past Winners

2005Buzzards Bay
2006 Brother Derek
2007 Tiago
2008 Colonel John

Santa Anita Derby - Betting

Santa Anita Derby preview

Santa Anita Derby preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Bay Shore Stakes
  • Illinois Derby
  • Louisiana Derby
  • Rebel Stakes
  • Wood Memorial Stakes
  • Gotham Stakes
  • John Battaglia Memorial Stakes
  • San Felipe Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:09:07 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011