Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

San Miguel Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
San Miguel Stakes Ungraded Santa Anita Park San Miguel Stakes

San Miguel Stakes

The San Miguel Stakes is an annual American ungraded stakes sprint run over 6 furlongs at Santa Anita Park in California for three-year-old thoroughbreds. Contested at the end of March, the San Miguel Stakes offers a purse of $70,000 and used to be an important prep race for the Santa Anita Derby in April.

As of 2009, the running of the San Miguel Stakes was shifted from the beginning of January to the end of March, which means it is too close to the Santa Anita Derby to be a prep race. That said, the 2009 running of the San Miguel Stakes still attracted some formidable runners.

Although one of the less important races on Santa Anita Park's annual racing calendar, the San Miguel Stakes is often selected by trainers to put their up-and-coming three-year-olds through their paces over 6 furlongs. And judging by how they run, trainers then select other stakes races going forward.

The 2009 San Miguel Stakes was a particularly exciting race as Triumphant Flight had to fight off a tough challenge by rival, Charlie's Moment, to clinch victory and his first win as a three-year-old. Ridden by jockey Victor Espinoza, Triumphant Flight crossed the line 1 1/2 lengths clear.

Over the years the San Miguel Stakes has seen some talented winners cross the line in first place. More recently, these have included Salute the Sarge in 2008, E Z Warrior in 2007, Going Wild in 2005, Hosco in 2004, Popular in 2002, and Lasersport in 2001.

San Miguel Stakes - Past Winners

2005 Going Wild
2006 Too Much Bling
2007 E Z Warrior
2008 Salute the Sarge
2009 Triumphant Flight

San Miguel Stakes - Betting

San Miguel Stakes preview

San Miguel Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Derby Trial Stakes
  • Breeders Futurity Stakes
  • Borderland Derby
  • Tampa Bay Derby
  • Rushaway Stakes
  • Lanes End Stakes
  • Cigar Mile Handicap
  • Arkansas Derby

  • 2014/02/16 01:10:24 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011