Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Robert Sangster Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Robert Sangster Stakes 1 Morphettville Racecourse Robert Sangster Stakes

Robert Sangster Stakes

The Robert Sangster Stakes is a Gr 1 Australian thoroughbred horserace contested in April every year over 1200m at Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide by fillies and mares three-years-old and above. The race, which currently offers a lucrative purse of AUD$300,000, is run at set weight conditions.

Hosted each year by the South Australian Jockey Club, up until 2007 the Robert Sangster Stakes was held in February. Interestingly, up until 2005, the race was called the Swettenham Stud Stakes. Its name was changed that year in honor of legendary Australian horseman, Robert Sangster, who died in 2004.

Sangster was one of the country's leading race horse owners and breeders and an owner of Swettenham Stud. So great was his impact on the sport of horseracing, that the South Australian Jockey Club decided to change the race's name in his memory.

The Robert Sangster Stakes is a fairly new horse race by Australian standards, being inaugurated in 1983. However, between then and now it has evolved? dramatically. For instance, in 1983 it was run as a Special Race. In 1984 and1985 it was run as a listed race and the following year earned itself a Gr 3 status.

In 2004 the Robert Sangster Stakes was run as a Gr 2 race and in 2005 was awarded it current Gr 1 status. As such, it's considered an important race for fillies and mares in Adelaide's racing calendar. One notable victor is 2005 winner Alinghi, who won four Gr 1 victories in her career.

Robert Sangster Stakes - Past Winners

2005 Alinghi
2006 Ellicorsam
2007 Universal Queen
2008 Juste Momente
2009 Bel Mer

Robert Sangster Stakes - Betting

Robert Sangster Stakes preview

Robert Sangster Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Sydney Cup
  • Stradbroke Handicap
  • Spring Champion Stakes
  • South Australian Derby
  • Queensland Oaks
  • Goodwood Handicap
  • Manikato Stakes
  • Patinack Farm Classic

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:48 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011