Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Robby Albarado

Jockey Profile

Robby Albarado
Robby Albarado was born in Lafayette, Louisiana on 11 September 1973.Albarado discovered his love for riding by the age of 12, and claimed his earliest win after turning professional on One Little Point in 1990 at Evangeline Downs, followed by his first stakes victory in the 1993 Grady Madden Memorial on Tuck's Honey Bear.

1998 started off with Albarado winning his first grade 1 race in the Early Times Turf Classic at Churchill Downs aboard Joyeux Danseur, but due to severe head injuries, he had to refrain from riding for almost seventeen months during 1998 and 1999. He had sustained two skull fractures. One of the fractures was so severe, it was necessary to replace a portion of his damaged skull with titanium mesh and a polymer plate.
Robby Albarado
Even though he overcame his injuries, and prevailed to win more than 3,000 races, his career was hindered as a consequence of injuries. In 2003 he won his first $1-million race aboard U.S. Horse of the Year, Mineshaft in the Jockey Club Gold Cup.

He received the George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award in 2004 and in 2007, Albardo was back, winning his first Triple Crown race at the Preakness Stakes and his first Breeders' Cup Classic respectively aboard Curlin.

He received the George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award in 2004. Albarado is also the 7th jockey to notch 700 wins at Churchill Downs, claiming this feat aboard Shive's Success in 2008, although he's never received a title at this track. Albarado won the Dubai World Cup in 2008 in a facile win aboard Curlin.

Robby Albarado - 10 Notable Wins

1993 - Grady Madden Memorial - Tuck's Honey Bear.

1995 - Stars and Stripes - Snake Eyes

1998 - Early Times Turf Classic - Joyeux Danseur

2003 - Jockey Club Gold Cup - Mineshaft

2004 - Fair Grounds - Isle of Silver

2007 - Preakness Stakes- Curlin

2007 - Breeder's Cup Classic - Curlin

2008 - Churchill Downs - Shive's Success

2008 - Dubai World Cup - Curlin

2008 - Stephen Foster Handicap - Curlin

Robby Albarado - Betting

Robby Albarado

Robby Albarado

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Jeffrey Lloyd
  • Alan Garcia
  • Johnny Murtagh
  • Edgar Prado
  • Christophe Soumillon
  • John Velazquez
  • Weichong Marwing
  • Seb Sanders

  • 2014/02/16 01:08:54 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011