Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Queensland Oaks

Race Name Grade Track
Queensland Oaks 1 Eagle Farm Racecourse Queensland Oaks

Queensland Oaks

The Queensland Oaks is a Gr 1 Australian thoroughbred horserace at set weights contested by three-year-old fillies over 2400m at Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane in late May or early June every year. Inaugurated in 1951, the Queensland Oaks currently offers a purse of AUD$400,000.

It is considered to be one of the most important staying races for three-year-old fillies during the exciting Brisbane winter carnival. As a result, it usually draws top fillies from across Queensland and even further afield. Most would agree, however, that the Queensland Oaks is not as highly-regarded as other Gr 1 Oaks races.

For instance, Melbourne's Crown Oaks and Sydney's AJC Oaks are considered more prestigious than the Queensland Oaks. In preparation for this race, trainers often enter their charges in the 2020m Doomben Roses (Gr 3) at Doomben Racecourse. In six years, three Doomben Roses winners have placed in the Oaks.

These include The Jewel in 2003, Cinque Cento in 2005 and Heavenly Glow in 2008. However, the last filly to win both the Doomben Roses and the Queensland Oaks in the same year was Ethereal in 2001. Out of Romanee Conti by Rhythm, Ethereal had a phenomenal career, winning many top Australian races.

Bred by Peter Vela and Phillip Vela in New Zealand, Ethereal's most notable wins include the Caulfield Cup in 2001, the Melbourne Cup in 2001 and the BMW Stakes in 2002. In 2002, the filly was named Waikato Horse of the Year Award, as well as Australian Champion Stayer.

Queensland Oaks - Past Winners

2004 Vouvray
2005 Vitesse Dane
2006 Allow
2007 Eskimo Queen
2008 Riva San

Queensland Oaks - Betting

Queensland Oaks preview

Queensland Oaks preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Stradbroke Handicap
  • Spring Champion Stakes
  • South Australian Derby
  • Robert Sangster Stakes
  • Goodwood Handicap
  • Manikato Stakes
  • Patinack Farm Classic
  • Queensland Derby

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:48 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011