Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Queensland Derby

Race Name Grade Track
Queensland Derby 1 Eagle Farm Racecourse Queensland Derby

Queensland Derby

The Queensland Derby is a Gr 1 Australian horse race that is contested over 2400m at set weights by three-year-old thoroughbreds in June every year at Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane. The Queensland Derby purse is currently AUD$500,000 and, as such, attracts many talented runners from Brisbane and beyond.

The Queensland Derby was inaugurated in 1868, although it was initially run at Gayndah Racecourse until 1870. Thereafter it was shifted to its current venue, Eagle Farm. Undoubtedly one of the most important races in Queensland, the Queensland Derby is the top race of the highly-anticipated Brisbane winter carnival.

While traditionally most of the runners in the Queensland Derby are local, the race often attracts top three-year-olds from other states that have won other notable Australian Derby races, such as Melbourne's coveted Victoria Derby and Sydney's auspicious AJC Derby. There are also many Queensland Derby prep races.

These include the 2020m Rough Habit Plate (Gr 3) held at Doomben Racecourse two weeks before, as well as the 2100m Grand Prix Stakes (Gr 3) held at Doomben one week before. Trainers are known to use theses races to gauge whether their charges are prepped enough to take on the Queensland Derby.

Notable Queensland Derby winners include Tulloch, who won this race in 1957. That same year he won the Caulfield Cup, the VRC Derby, the AJC Derby, the AJC Sires Produce Stakes and the VRC Sires Produce Stakes and many others. New Zealand-bred gelding Rough Habit delivered a dazzling win in 1990.

Queensland Derby - Past Winners

2004 Toulouse Lautrec
2005 Lachlan River
2006 Ice Chariot
2007 Empires Choice
2008 Riva San

Queensland Derby - Betting

Queensland Derby preview

Queensland Derby preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Queensland Oaks
  • Goodwood Handicap
  • Manikato Stakes
  • Patinack Farm Classic
  • AJC Metropolitan Handicap
  • AJC Oaks
  • AJC Queen Elizabeth Stakes
  • All Aged Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:47 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011