Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Queen's Plate

Race Name Grade Track
The Queen's Plate 1 Woodbine Racecourse Queen's Plate

Queen's Plate

The Queen's Plate was inaugurated in 1860 thus making it the oldest horse race in the US and Canada. The purse is CAN$1million and thoroughbreds of 3-years-old and up, bred in Canada are able to take part.

The race is run over 1 and a quarter miles every July. Since 1995 the start has been limited to 17 horses for safety reasons.

In 1860 the purse was 50 guineas which was awarded by Queen Victoria. Queen Elizabeth II is still a patron of the race and members of the Royal Family are generally in attendance at each running of the race.

The track record is 2:01 4/5 which was set in 1990 by Izvestia, and the the first female jockey to win the race was Emma-Jayne Wilson who won in 2007.

Queen's Plate Racecourse


The Queen's Plate is run at the Woodbine racetrack, which is situated in Toronto, Canada. The track is run by the Woodbine Entertainment Group which was previously named the Ontario Jockey Club. The Woodbine racetrack is able to hold thoroughbred and standardbred races on the same day making it the only track in North America to do so.

Queen's Plate
Extensive remodeling has taken place since the track first opened, and as of 2004 Woodbine has 3 racetracks; the EP Taylor track, the Polytrack and oval standardbred track consisting of crushed limestone.

Queen's Plate - Past Winners

2003 Wando
2004 Niigon
2005 Wild Desert
2006 Edenwold
2007 Mike Fox

Queen's Plate - Betting

Queen's Plate history

Queen's Plate history

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Prix de l'Opera
  • New Zealand Derby
  • UAE Derby
  • Derby Italiano
  • Gran Criterium
  • Grand Prix de Paris
  • Summer Cup
  • Poule d'Essai des Poulains

  • 2014/02/16 01:16:07 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011