Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Prix Marcel Boussac

Race Name Grade Track
Prix Marcel Boussac 1 Longchamp Racecourse Prix Marcel Boussac

Prix Marcel Boussac

The Prix Marcel Boussac is a French Grade 1 turf flat horse race for two-year-old thoroughbred fillies and is run over 1,600 meters on turf at the prestigious Longchamp Racecourse in Paris in early October every year. Inaugurated in 1969, the Prix Marcel Boussac was originally called the Criterium des Pouliches.

In 1980 the Criterium des Pouliches became the Prix Marcel Boussac, named after Marcel Boussac who died in the same year. Boussac was a well-known figure in the French textiles industry as well as prominent racehorse owner and breeder. He was the chairman of the Societe d'Encouragement from 1959 to 1974.

What makes the Prix Marcel Boussac so exciting is that it is the only Gr 1 race in France that is exclusively open to two-year-old fillies. Traditionally the winners of this race have gone on to become favorites in the following year's 'classic' French races, including the Poule d'Essai des Pouliches and the 1,000 Guineas Stakes.

Initially run over Longchamp's middle track, in 1987 the Prix Marcel Boussac was switched to its main track where the fastest time of 1m 34.9s was set in 2006 by Irish champion Finsceal Beo (ridden by Kevin Manning). The Prix Marcel Boussac is always run on the same day as the coveted Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe.

Four jockeys have each won the Prix Marcel Boussac 3 times: Yves Saint-Martinin in 1972, 1975 and 1979, Lester Piggott in 1969, 1981 and 1985; Alain Lequeux in 1980, 1984 and 1988; and Willie Carson in 1987, 1989 and 1990. Trainers Pascal Bary and Criquette Head-Maarek have each won the race 5 times.

Prix Marcel Boussac - Past Winners

2004 Divine Proportions
2005 Rumplestiltskin
2006 Finsceal Beo
2007 Satwa Queen
2008 Proportional

Prix Marcel Boussac - Betting

Prix Marcel Boussac preview

Prix Marcel Boussac preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Godolphin Mile
  • U.A.E. Derby
  • Prix Royal Oak
  • Prix de l'Abbaye de Longchamp
  • Prix de l'Opera
  • New Zealand Derby
  • UAE Derby
  • Derby Italiano

  • 2014/02/16 01:16:08 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011