Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe

Race Name Grade Track
Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe 1 Longchamp Racecourse Prix De l'Arc de Triomphe

Prix De l'Arc de Triomphe

Known around the world to racing fans as 'The Arc', the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe is not only France's foremost race of the year, but also the unofficial European race of the year. Because it is held in October at the culmination of the flat season it is the defining race for the best horses of the season to compete against one another. The race routinely draws the best horses from England and Ireland as well as challengers from around the globe who come to take on the best horses in France.

In terms of the overall quality of the field one could argue that it is the most important turf race in the world, easily more signifcant than the Breeders' Cup Turf. The race is held at Longchamp racecourse and was first run in 1920. Horses three and older participate and the race is contested over a mile and a half (2400m).

Prix De l'Arc de Triomphe Racecourse


The Arc is run at the Longchamp Racecourse over a distance of 12 furlongs. Longchamp is an imposing facility comprised of several interlocking racetracks, and it is located in Paris, France. The race course used for the Arc is renowned for a demanding hill that the horses have to navigate during the race.

Melbourne Cup
Much like Epsom Downs the course undulates and can prove tricky to handle for inexperienced horses and riders. The Prix de L'Arc de Triomphe has a purse of 1.6 million Euros and the great French trainer Andre Fabre has won the race 7 times. The widest margin of victory in the race was 6 lengths when Ribot, whom many consider to be the greatest racehorse of all time, destroyed the opposition in 1956.

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe - Past Winners

2002 Marienbard
2003 Dalakhani
2004 Bago
2005 Hurricane Run
2006 Rail Link

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe - Betting

The Arc

The Arc

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Hong Kong Cup
  • Japan Cup
  • The J&B Met
  • Durban July Handicap
  • Dubai World Cup

  • 2014/02/16 01:16:02 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011