Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Patinack Farm Classic

Race Name Grade Track
Patinack Farm Classic 1 Flemington Racecourse Patinack Farm Classic

Patinack Farm Classic

The Patinack Farm Classic is a Gr 1 Australian open weight-for-age horse race contested by three-year-old thoroughbreds and older at 1200m in November each year at Melbourne's Flemington Racecourse. It boasts a purse of AUD$500,000 and is always run on the Saturday following the Melbourne Cup.

What is interesting about the Patinack Farm Classic is the number of times its name has changed since its inception in 1868. From then until 1907 it was called the Flying Stakes, 1908 until 1996 the Linlithgow Stakes, 1997 until 2003 the Emirates Classic, the Lexus Classic in 2004, and 2005 until 2007 The Age Classic.

In 2008 it was renamed the Patinack Farm Classic. Its race distance has also changed over the years. From 1868 to 1886 it was run over 6 furlongs, 1887 to 1907 over 7 furlongs, 1908 to 1967 over 8 furlongs, 1968 to 1971 over 7 furlongs, 1972 to 1991 over 1400m and from 1992 until now over 1200m.

The Patinack Farm Classic has also increased in Grade and status. From its launch until 1978 it was run as a Principal Race, from 1979 until 2006 as a Gr 2 race and from 2007 until now a Gr 1 race. In 2008 it replaced the Australia Stakes as the Australian leg of the prestigious? Global Sprint Challenge Series.

Notable Patinack Farm Classic winners include Miss Andretti in 2007, Takeover Target in 2005, Rubitano in 2002, Special in 1988, River Rough in 1983 and 1984 and Maybe Mahal in 1976.

Patinack Farm Classic - Past Winners

2004 Fastnet Rock
2005 Glamour Puss
2006 Magnus
2007 Miss Andretti
2008 Swick

Patinack Farm Classic - Betting

Patinack Farm Classic preview

Patinack Farm Classic preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Robert Sangster Stakes
  • Queensland Oaks
  • Goodwood Handicap
  • Manikato Stakes
  • Queensland Derby
  • AJC Metropolitan Handicap
  • AJC Oaks
  • AJC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:47 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011