Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Manikato Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Manikato Stakes 1 Moonee Valley Racecourse Manikato Stakes

Manikato Stakes

The Manikato Stakes is a Gr 1 Australian weight-for-age horse race for thoroughbreds contested over 1200m in September every year at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne. The race currently offers a purse of just over AUD$400,000 and was inaugurated in 1968 as the Freeway Stakes.

In 1984, the race's name was changed to the Manikato Stakes, in honor of talented gelding Manikato. Bought for just AUD$3,500, Manikato become one of the best sprinters in Australia in the late 1970s and early 1980s. During his illustrious career, he notched up an impressive ten Gr 1 and fourteen Gr 2 victories.

Not only did Manikato win this race in 1979 and 1982 (then the Freeway Stakes), but he also triumphed in the prestigious William Reid Stakes (now known as the Australia Stakes) a record five consecutive times from 1979 to 1983. Retired in 1983, Manikato was sadly euthanized the following year due to ill-health.

Since its inception, the Manikato Stakes has risen through the ranks to become one of the most important fixtures on Moonee Valley's race calendar. Up until 1972, the race was run over 6 furlongs. In 1978 it was run as principal race, in 1979 it was granted a Gr 2 status, and in 1989 granted its Gr 1 status.

Signaling the start of Melbourne's spring Gr 1 racing, the Mankato Stakes has been won by many wonderful thoroughbreds, including Vain in 1969, Strawberry Road in 1983, Sunline in 2000, Miss Andretti in 2006 and Typhoon Zed in 2008.

Manikato Stakes - Past Winners

2004 Spark Of Life
2005 Spark Of Life
2006 Miss Andretti
2007 Gold Edition
2008 Typhoon Zed

Manikato Stakes - Betting

Manikato Stakes preview

Manikato Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • South Australian Derby
  • Robert Sangster Stakes
  • Queensland Oaks
  • Goodwood Handicap
  • Patinack Farm Classic
  • Queensland Derby
  • AJC Metropolitan Handicap
  • AJC Oaks

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:48 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011