Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Lanes End Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Lane's End Stakes 2 Turfway Park Lane's End Stakes

Lane's End Stakes

The Lane's End Stakes is a 1 1/8 mile American Gr 2 horserace open to three-year-old thoroughbreds and is run at the end of March each year at Turfway Park in Florence, Kentucky over synthetic surface. With a purse of $500,000, the Lane's End Stakes is a popular prep race for the Kentucky Derby.

Inaugurated in April 1972, the race was first called the Spiral Stake. Ten years later in 1982 when sponsor Jim Beam came on board, the race was renamed the Jim Beam Spiral Stakes. When Lane's End Farm took over the sponsorship of the race in 2002, it was renamed the Lane's End Stakes.

In 1984 the American Graded Stakes Committee awarded the Lane's End Stakes its Gr 1 status. In 1986 was awarded its current Gr 2 status. Since its beginning, the race has been contested over many distances. For instance, from 1972 until 1981 it was run over 1 mile and from 1982 to 1987 over 1 1/6 miles.

From 1988 until now it has been raced over its current distance of 1 1/8 miles. In 1991 (while it was still the Jim Beam Stakes), Hansel set a new track record in a time of 1:46.60, while Serena's Song was the first filly to win the race in 1995. In 1973, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1978, and 1980 the race was run in two divisions.

Pat Day currently holds the record for the most wins by a jockey with five - in 1984, 1987, 1989, 1990 and 1992. William E. Adams has notched up the most wins as a trainer with seven - in 1977 (2), 1978 (2), 1979 and 1980 (2). Golden Chance Farm has won the race four times - in 1977, 1978 and 1980 (2).

Lane's End Stakes - Past Winners

2004 Sinister G
2005 Flower Alley
2006 With A City
2007 Hard Spun
2008 Adriano

Lane's End Stakes - Betting

Lane's End Stakes preview

Lane's End Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Borderland Derby
  • Tampa Bay Derby
  • San Miguel Stakes
  • Rushaway Stakes
  • Cigar Mile Handicap
  • Arkansas Derby
  • Lexington Stakes
  • Blue Grass Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:10:24 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011