Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Lady's Secret Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Lady's Secret Stakes 1 Santa Anita Park Lady's Secret Stakes

Lady's Secret Stakes

The Lady's Secret Stakes is a 1 1/16 mile flat American Grade 1 horse race on dirt for thoroughbred fillies and mares three-years-old and up for a purse of $250,000. The race is run annually (usually towards the end of September) at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California during the Oak Tree Racing Association.

Formerly called the Lady's Secret Breeders' Cup Handicap, the Lady's Secret Stakes was upgraded from a Grade 2 race to a Grade 1 race in 2007 by the American Graded Stakes Committee. The race was named after Hall of Famer Lady's Secret, who is ranked 76 in the top 100 US thoroughbred champions.

The Lady's Secret Stakes is part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge 'Win and You're In' series where the winner automatically qualifies for the prestigious Breeders' Cup Ladies' Classic in Santa Anita in October each year. Since its inauguration in 1993, the Lady's Secret Stakes has produced some notable winners.

These include Hollywood Wildcat who won the inaugural Lady's Secret Stakes with a repeat victory in 1994, and Kentucky-bred Azeri who won in 2002. Azeri went on to win the Apple Blossom Handicap, the Milady Breeders' Cup Handicap, the Vanity Handicap and the Breeders' Cup Distaff in the same year.

Top-rated Mexican-born jockey Victor Espinoza won the Lady's Secret Stakes in 2006 and 2007 on Healthy Addiction and Tough Tiz's Sis respectively. In 2000 Espinoza won the Breeders' Cup Distaff aboard Spain and in 2002 he won the coveted Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes aboard War Emblem.

Lady's Secret Stakes - Past Winners

2003 Got Koko
2004 Island Fashion
2005 Healthy Addiction
2006 Healthy Addiction
2007 Tough Tiz's Sis

Lady's Secret Stakes - Betting

Lady's Secret Stakes preview

Lady's Secret Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Vosburgh Stakes
  • Champagne Stakes
  • Yellow Ribbon Stakes
  • Joe Hirsch Turf Classic Invitational Stakes
  • Goodwood Stakes at Oak Tree
  • Clement L Hirsch Memorial Stakes
  • Flower Bowl Invitational Stakes
  • Beldame Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:08:56 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011