Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Kentucky Derby

Race Name Grade Track
Kentucky Derby 1 Churchill Downs Kentucky Derby

Kentucky Derby

The Kentucky Derby is run at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. It is without a doubt the greatest horse race. The race is also referred to as the ?Run for the Roses? because of the blanket of roses draped over the winner.

The race is contested over 1 and 1/4 miles (10 furlongs) on a dirt track. The race is open to 3 year-olds only and there is a guaranteed purse of $2 million. The field is restricted to a maximum of 20 horses and in the event that more horses are entered qualification is determined by highest earnings in stakes races. This is the first leg of the Triple Crown in the USA, and the race is always run on the first Saturday in May. Kentucky Derby betting for 2007 was $118,317,714, a dip of only 0.1 percent from the record year in 2006 when all "official" wagers on the race came to a total of $118,426,874. The biggest crowd to attend the Kentucky Derby was in 1974 for the 100th running of the race, which was won by Cannonade. The last two years have seen a marked increase in crowd attendance and with it an increase in the amount wagered on the race.

Kentucky Derby Racetrack

Churchill Downs

The Kentucky Derby is run at Churchill Downs. Churchill Downs is a typical American race track - left-handed turns and oval in shape. Major races held at the track besides the Kentucky Derby include the Kentucky Oaks ($500,000), the Turf Classic Stakes ($500,000), and the Stephen Foster Handicap ($750,000).

Churchill Downs

Churchill Downs betting is known for the guaranteed Pick 4 on the last four races of every card.

Kentucky Derby - Past Winners

2003 Funny Cide
2004 Smarty Jones
2005 Giacomo
2006 Barbaro
2007 Street Sense

The last horse to win the Kentucky Derby and go on to win the Triple Crown was Affirmed in 1978. The last filly to win the race was Winning Colors in 1988. Other famous winners of the race include War Admiral (1937), Northern Dancer (1964), and Secretariat (1973).

Kentucky Derby - Betting

Kentucky Derby

Kentucky Derby

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Jockey Club Gold Cup
  • Hollywood Gold Cup
  • Belmont Stakes
  • Preakness Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:07:34 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011