Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Irish Champion Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Irish Champion Stakes 1 Leopardstown Racecourse Irish Champion Stakes

Irish Champion Stakes Stakes

The Irish Champion Stakes race is one of Europe's most prestigious flat horse-races for 3 year old and above thoroughbreds, with approximately Euro1m in prize money. The race never fails to attract top-quality entrants with some of the biggest champs battling it out for top honours over the years. The race is run over a distance of 2,000 metres at Leopardstown racecourse each September.

The race was initially known as the Phoenix Champion Stakes and run at Phoenix Park in 1984. This first race was won by the celebrated Sadler's Wells, a magnificent stallion who was a top performer and went on to sire a number of Group One winners all over the world. Phoenix Park racecourse closed down in 1990 and the race was moved to Leopardstown in 1991 and renamed the Irish Champion Stakes. The first winner of the race at the new venue was Suave Dancer who went on to win the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe at Longchamp the following month.

Irish Champion Stakes Racecourse


Leopardstown Racecoursewas built in 1888 by Captain George Quin who modelled the course of the Sandown Racecourse in England. Leopardstown has 24 private suites, numerous hospitality suites and the Leopardstown Pavilion amongst others as well as a plentitude of bars and snack shop.

Leopardstown Racecourse
Because the racecourse is situated in the heart of the suburbs in a prime development area, it always ran the risk of being bought out and developed into housing projects or the like. To avoid this happening, The Racing Board made an offer on the racecourse in 1967 which was accepted by the owners led by Mr Fred Clarke. Since then, the course has developed into one of the leading racecourses in Europe. Set in beautiful surroundings, the racecourse is situated only 6 miles out of Dublin's city centre.

Irish Champion Stakes - Past Winners

2002 High Chaparral
2003 Azamour
2004 Oratario
2005 Dylan Thomas
2006 Dylan Thomas

Irish Champion Stakes - Betting

Irish Champion Stakes

Irish Champion Stakes

Other Articles:
  • Phoenix Stakes
  • Racing Post Trophy
  • Dewhurst Stakes
  • King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes
  • The Golden Jubilee Stakes
  • The Coronation Stakes
  • The Prince of Wales's Stakes
  • The Queen Anne Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:15:11 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011