Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Illinois Derby

Race Name Grade Track
Illinois Derby 2 Hawthorne Racecourse Illinois Derby

Illinois Derby

The Illinois Derby is a Gr 2 American horserace contested over 1 1/8 miles on dirt by three-year-old thoroughbreds in April every year at Hawthorne Race Course in Stickney, Illinois (west of Chicago). It offers a generous purse of $500,000 and is an important prep race for the Kentucky Derby in May each year.

Inaugurated in 1923, the Illinois Derby was run up until 1938 (where it was hosted by Aurora Downs Racetrack) and was then stopped until 1963. That year it was restarted at Sportsman's Park Racetrack in Cicero, Illinois, where it was contested every year until in 2003 it was moved over to Hawthorne Race Course.

Originally run in May between the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes (the first and second legs of the U.S. Triple Crown series), in 2001 the Illinois Derby was moved forward to early April, in effect becoming the prep race it is today for the Kentucky Derby, and ultimately the Triple Crown series.

Interestingly, in the Illinois Derby's last running at Sportsman's Park Racetrack, it was won by War Emblem, 2002 American Champion 3-Yr-Old Male Horse and winner of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Haskell Invitational Handicap. 2004 Illinois Derby winner, Pollard's Vision, only had vision in one eye.

The fastest time ever recorded in the Illinois Derby was 1:47.51 set in 1997 (while the race was still held at Sportsman's Park Racetrack) by Wild Rush, who was ridden by Kent Desormeaux, trained by Richard Mandella and owned by Frank Stronach.

Illinois Derby - Past Winners

2004 Pollard's Vision
2005 Greeley's Galaxy
2006 Sweetnorthernsaint
2007 Cowtown Cat
2008 Recapturetheglory

Illinois Derby - Betting

Illinois Derby preview

Illinois Derby preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review


Other Articles:
  • Arkansas Derby
  • Lexington Stakes
  • Blue Grass Stakes
  • Bay Shore Stakes
  • Louisiana Derby
  • Rebel Stakes
  • Santa Anita Derby
  • Wood Memorial Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:07:27 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011