Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Goodwood Stakes at Oak Tree

Race Name Grade Track
Goodwood Stakes (Oak Tree) 1 Santa Anita Park Goodwood Stakes

Goodwood Stakes

The Goodwood Stakes at Oak Tree is an annual American Grade 1 flat horse race for thoroughbred horses aged three years and up, and is run over 1 1/8 miles on a dirt surface (Pro-Ride) at Santa Anita Park in California. The race carries a purse of $500,000 and is run during the Oak Tree Racing Association.

The Goodwood Stakes is part of the 'Win and You're In' Breeders' Cup incentive program and is run in late September each year at Santa Anita Park, along with other 'Win and You're In' races. The Goodwood Stakes got its name from the Goodwood Racecourse in the English city of Chichester in West Sussex.

Inaugurated in 1982 as the Goodwood Breeders' Cup Handicap, in 2007 the American Graded Stakes Committee upgraded the race from a Grade 2 to a Grade 1 event and announced that its name would change to the Goodwood Stakes in 2008. In 1982, 1983, 1984 and 1986 the race was run over 1 1/16 miles.

The fastest recorded time in the Goodwood Stakes is 1:46.72 over 1 1/8 miles which was set in 1994 by American stallion Bertrando. Lord At War and Pleasantly Perfect are the only two horses to have each won the Goodwood Stakes twice - in 1984 and 1985, and 2002 and 2003 respectively.

Trainer Charles Whittingham has the most wins in the Goodwood Stakes with a total of five, in 1984, 1985, 1987, 1990 and 1991. Jockey Kent Desormeaux has ridden four winners in the Goodwood Stakes in 1992, 1993, 1995 and 2001, as has fellow jockey Gary L. Stevens with wins in 1988, 1994, 1998 and 2005.

Goodwood Stakes - Past Winners

2003 Pleasantly Perfect
2004 Lundy's Liability
2005 Rock Hard Ten
2006 Lava Man
2007 Tiago

Goodwood Stakes - Betting

Goodwood Stakes preview

Goodwood Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Champagne Stakes
  • Yellow Ribbon Stakes
  • Joe Hirsch Turf Classic Invitational Stakes
  • Lady's Secret Stakes
  • Clement L Hirsch Memorial Stakes
  • Flower Bowl Invitational Stakes
  • Beldame Stakes
  • Ancient Title Breeders' Cup Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:08:55 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011