Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Godolphin Mile

Race Name Grade Track ?
Godolphin Mile 2 Nad Al Sheba Racecourse Godolphin Mile

Godolphin Mile

The Godolphin Mile is a Gr 2 flat thoroughbred horse race that is contested in late March each year in the United Arab Emirates at the famous Nad Al Sheba Racecourse, located in Dubai. While the race was inaugurated in 1994 as the Nad Al Sheba Mile, its name was eventually changed to the Godolphin Mile.

It is always held during the highly-anticipated Dubai World Cup Night for three-year-old thoroughbreds from the Southern Hemisphere and four-year-old thoroughbreds from the Northern Hemisphere. The Godolphin Mile is run over 1600m (roughly 8 furlongs) on dirt and offers a purse of $1 million.

The fastest that the Godolphin Mile has ever been completed was in a time of 1:34:91 in 1999, by Lend A Hand who was ridden by top UK-based jockey Frankie Dettori and trained by Saeed bin Suroor for owner Sheikh Mohammed. In fact, Frankie Dettori has won the Godolphin Mile a record four times.

He chalked up his first victory in 1998 aboard Allied Forces, in 1999 aboard Lend A Hand, in 2003 aboard Firebreak and again in 2004 aboard Firebreak, all under the guidance of Saeed bin Suroor. Apart for his Lend A Hand victory, all of his other wins were on thoroughbreds owned by Godolphin Racing.

Lost Soldier joins Firebreak as the only other horse with two Godolphin Mile victories under his girdle - in 1994 with Anthony McGlone aboard and in 1995 with Gary Hind aboard, both for top American trainer Kiaran McLaughlin and owner Sheikh Mohd Obaid.

Godolphin Mile - Past Winners

2004 Firebreak
2005 Grand Emporium
2006 Utopia
2007 Spring at Last
2008 Diamond Stripes

Godolphin Mile - Betting

Godolphin Mile

Godolphin Mile

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Dubai Sheema Classic
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Dubai Golden Shaheen
  • U.A.E. Derby
  • Prix Royal Oak
  • Prix de l'Abbaye de Longchamp
  • Prix Marcel Boussac

  • 2014/02/16 01:16:11 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011