Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Epsom Handicap

Race Name Grade Track
Epsom Handicap 1 Randwick Racecourse Epsom Handicap

Epsom Handicap

The Epsom Handicap is a Gr 1 Australian horse race run by 3-year-olds and above over 1600m in early October each year at Sydney's Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. With a purse of AUD$600,000, the Epsom Handicap is considered to be one of the feature races of the prestigious Sydney Spring Carnival.

Inaugurated in 1863, the Epsom Handicap has long been acknowledged as a the ideal showcase for many of Australia's best 'milers'. And as such, over the years the race has yielded many worthwhile winners, many of which have also triumphed in other big races. Sky High, Gunsynd and Chatham are just a few examples.

The running of the Epsom Derby has gone virtually uninterrupted since it was conceived. However, in 2007 the race was cancelled due to an outbreak of horse flu across Australia. Considered one of the 'toughest' Gr 1 races held annually at Randwick, the Epsom Handicap is on a par with the Doncaster Handicap in April.

The Epsom Handicap is run on the same day as the 2400m Metropolitan which is the most important staying race of the Sydney Spring Carnival. For racehorse trainers across Australia, a win in the Epsom Derby is highly coveted and important in terms of cementing the racing credentials of their top milers.

Memorable Epsom Handicap winners include Amounis in 1926, Nightmarch in 1929, Chatham? in 1932 and 1933, Gunsynd in 1971, Imposing in 1979, Super Impose in 1990 and 1991, Desert war in 2004 and 2005, and Theseo in 2008.

Epsom Handicap - Past Winners

2004 Desert War
2005 Desert War
2006 Racing To Win
2007 No race due to equine influenza
2008 Theseo

Epsom Handicap - Betting

Epsom Handicap preview

Epsom Handicap preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Champagne Stakes
  • George Main Stakes
  • Flight Stakes
  • Doncaster Handicap
  • Caulfield Stakes
  • Caulfield Guineas
  • BMW Stakes
  • Australasian Oaks

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:47 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011