Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Dubai Golden Shaheen

Race Name Grade Track ?
Dubai Golden Shaheen 1 Nad Al Sheba Racecourse Dubai World Cup

Dubai Golden Shaheen

The Dubai Golden Shaheen is an annual Gr 1 flat horse race held in late March as part of the Dubai World Cup Night at Dubai's Nad Al Sheba Racecourse in the UAE. Contested over 1200m (roughly 6 furlongs), it's a popular sprint race open to three-year-old and above thoroughbreds, over dirt.

Inaugurated in December 1993, the race was called the Nad Al Sheba Sprint. In 1996 it was moved to March to be included in the Dubai World Cup Night program. In 2000 its name was changed to the Dubai Golden Shaheen, and is renowned for attracting some of the world's best sprinters.

In 2006 the Dubai Golden Shaheen was awarded its current Gr 1 status. With a purse of US$2 million, it is one of the richest sprints in the world. In 2000 Big Jag - owned by Julius Zolezzi, ridden by Alex Solis and trained by Tim Pinfield - won the Dubai Golden Shaheen setting a record time of 1:08.10.

Only one horse, Caller One, has ever won the Dubai Golden Shaheen twice, in 2001 and 2002 with Corey Nakatani and Gary Stevens aboard respectively. Caller One's trainer, James Chapman, is joined by only one other trainer, Dhruba Selvaratnam, to have won the race twice, in 1998 and 1999.

Only two jockeys have won the Dubai Golden Shaheen twice, Gary Stevens in 1999 (Ramp and Rave) and 2002 (Caller One), and Alex Solis, in 2000 (Big Jag) and 2004 (Our New Recruit). Carolyn Chapman and Theresa McArthur have the most wins as owners in the race - scoring victories in 2001 and 2002.

Dubai Golden Shaheen - Past Winners

2004 Our New Recruit
2005 Saratoga County
2006 Proud Tower Too
2007 Kelly's Landing
2008 Benny the Bull

Dubai Golden Shaheen - Betting

Dubai World Cup

Dubai World Cup

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Dubai Sheema Classic
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Godolphin Mile
  • U.A.E. Derby
  • Prix Royal Oak
  • Prix de l'Abbaye de Longchamp

  • 2014/02/16 01:16:11 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011