Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Doncaster Handicap

Race Name Grade Track
Doncaster Handicap 1 Randwick Racecourse Doncaster Handicap

Doncaster Handicap

The Doncaster Handicap is a Gr 1 Australian horserace contested by? three-year-old thoroughbreds and older every year at Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney over 1600m (1 mile). The race is also known as the Doncaster Mile and with a purse of AUD$2 million is Australia's richest race over a mile.

Traditionally the Doncaster Handicap was held on Easter Monday, but more recently it was pushed back to the third Saturday in April. Inaugurated in 1865, the Doncaster Handicap has a long and rich heritage and has been contested and won by many of Australia's finest thoroughbreds, including Super Impose.

Top-rated gelding Super Impose made history when he won both the Doncaster Handicap and the coveted Epsom Handicap in 1991 and 1992. The Epsom Handicap is another of Australia's most auspicious horse races, which is also contested each year at Royal Randwick Racecourse as part of its Spring Carnival.

Another top Doncaster Handicap victor is Sunline, who won this race in 1999 and 2002 and then went on to triumph in the All Aged Stakes in 2000 and 2002, the Coolmore Classic in 2000 and 2002, the Waikato Sprint in 2001 and 2002, the Hong Kong Mile in 2000 and the Manikato Stakes in 2000.

A more recent standout is 2007 Doncaster Handicap winner Haradasun, who went on to win the George Ryder Stakes (Gr 1) at Rosehill Gardens in Sydney in 2007, as well as the internationally acclaimed Queen Anne Stakes? (Gr 1) at Ascot Racecourse in England in 2008.

Doncaster Handicap - Past Winners

2004 Private Steer
2005 Patezza
2006 Racing To Win
2007 Haradasun
2008 Triple Honour

Doncaster Handicap - Betting

Doncaster Handicap preview

Doncaster Handicap preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • All Aged Stakes
  • Champagne Stakes
  • George Main Stakes
  • Flight Stakes
  • Epsom Handicap
  • Caulfield Stakes
  • Caulfield Guineas
  • BMW Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:55 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011