Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Derby Trial Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Derby Trial Stakes 3 Churchill Downs Racecourse Derby Trial Stakes

Derby Trial Stakes

The Derby Trial Stakes is a Gr 3 American horserace run over 1 mile on dirt, which is contested by three-year-old thoroughbreds at the end of April each year at Churchill Downs racecourse in Louisville, Kentucky. With a purse of $100,000, it is widely acknowledged to be an ideal prep race for the Preakness Stakes.

Inaugurated in 1924, this race has been contested every year since except for 1928. It was a graded event up until 2005 when it had its grade revoked. However, as of 2009 it has been reassigned a Gr 3 status. Since it has been run, it has seen many of Kentucky's most talented three-year-olds competing for racing glory.

The Derby Trial Stakes is no longer a good prep race for the Kentucky Derby because they are too close together. Also, trainers have started racing their charges less frequently and giving them more time off before the bigger races. That said, many Derby Trial Stakes winners have made it to the coveted Preakness Stakes.

These include Key to the Mint in 1972, Houston in 1989, Alydeed in 1992, Cherokee Run in 1993, Numerous in 1994, Patience Game in 1999, Sir Shackleton in 2004, Flying First Class in 2007 and Macho Again in 2008. Notably, Alydeed, Cherokee Run and Macho Again chalked up second place finishes in the race.

In the 2007 and 2008 Derby Trial Stakes, the race distance was 7 1/2 furlongs, not 1 mile. Flying First and Macho Again respectively won in those years.

Derby Trial Stakes - Past Winners

2004 Sir Shackleton
2005 Don't Get Mad
2006 Record
2007 Flying First Class
2008 Macho Again

Derby Trial Stakes - Betting

Derby Trial Stakes preview

Derby Trial Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Spinster Stakes
  • Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup Stakes
  • First Lady Stakes
  • Federico Tesio Stakes
  • Breeders Futurity Stakes
  • Borderland Derby
  • Tampa Bay Derby
  • San Miguel Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:09:24 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011