Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Derby Italiano

Race Name Grade Track
Derby Italiano 1 Capannelle Racecourse Derby Italiano

Derby Italiano

The Derby Italiano is an Italian flat horse race that is run over a distance of 2400m and is held in Rome in May each year. The purse is $900,000.

The flat race is open to 3-year-old thoroughbreds (both fillies and colts). For the first 100 or so years of the race's existence it was open only to horses foaled in Italy, but since 1981 horses bred outside of Italy have been allowed entry.

The first Derby Italiano was run in 1884 and is the Italian answer to the Epsom Derby held by the English each year. The one name that will always be associated with the race is Federico Tesio. He bred 22 winers of the race, and owned at least a share of 16 of those winners. Tesio is most famous for breeding Ribot, possibly the greatest racehorse of all time.

Derby Italiano Racecourse


The Capannelle racectrack is a massive 1,600,000 square meter facility used for galloping and saddle racing. The racecourse is situated about ten km from the city of Rome. The Racecourse has 3 tracks, one of turf, the other of dirt and the last has hurdles for jump racing.

Derby Italiano
The Capannelle race course facility has a capacity of 20,000 visitors, and tends to draw the biggest crowds on Derby day as punters yearn to see the next Ribot.

Derby Italiano - Past Winners

2003 Osorio
2004 Groom Tesse
2005 De Sica
2006 Gentlewave
2007 Awelmarduk

Derby Italiano - Betting

Derby Italiano history

Derby Italiano history

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Prix Marcel Boussac
  • Prix de l'Opera
  • New Zealand Derby
  • UAE Derby
  • Queen's Plate
  • Gran Criterium
  • Grand Prix de Paris
  • Summer Cup

  • 2014/02/16 01:16:07 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011