Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

D Wayne Lukas

Trainer Profile

D Wayne Lukas
D Wayne Lukas was born Darrell Wayne Lukas on the 2nd of September 1935 in Wisconsin. He is a former teacher with a Master's degree in education who went on to become one of the living legends of US horse racing.

Having been born on a farm, Lukas was always interested in horses. In 1968 he started to train Quarter horses and in 10 years had trained 23 world champs. He then changed to thoroughbred racehorses and was the first trainer ever to win in excess of $100 million in purses. He has been the top earner of the year 14 times.

Lukas has an astounding 18 Breeders' Cup wins under his belt to add to 5 Preakness Stakes, 4 Kentucky Derbys, and 4 Belmont Stakes amongst many other Grade 1 wins.

D Wayne Lukas
He was inducted into National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame in 1999. In 2007 he was inducted into the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame which made him the first person ever to be inducted into both halls of fame.

D Wayne Lukas has given us amazing moments: the victory in the Kentucky Derby with the filly Winning Colors; the Triple Crown sweep in '95 with Thunder Gulch and Timber Country; the Triple Crown wins with Charismatic, who was a claimer that he scooped up and turned into a world-beater in the same season!

D Wayne Lukas - 10 Notable Horses Trained

Thunder Gulch

Winning Colors

Timber Country



Serena's Song

Lady's Secret


Criminal Type


D Wayne Lukas - Betting

D Wayne Lukas

D Wayne Lukas

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • William Mott
  • Michael Stoute
  • Andre Fabre
  • Saeed bin Suroor
  • Todd Pletcher
  • Aidan O'Brien
  • Nick Zito
  • Mike de Kock

  • 2014/02/16 01:08:08 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011