Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Cigar Mile Handicap

Race Name Grade Track
Cigar Mile Handicap 1 Aqueduct Racetrack Cigar Mile Handicap

Cigar Mile Handicap

The Cigar Mile Handicap is an American Grade 1 flat horse race for thoroughbreds three-years-old and up and is run in late November every year at the historical Aqueduct Racetrack in Queens, New York City over 1 mile on dirt. The Cigar Mile Handicap is run under handicap weight conditions.

Inaugurated in 1988 as the NYRA Mile, the Cigar Mile Handicap was renamed in 1997 after 1994 race winner and Hall of Famer, Cigar. In his career Cigar won five from eight starts. When retired in 1996, Cigar had earned $9,999,813, a record that stood until Curlin topped the $10-million mark in 2008.

Hill 'n' Dale Farms of Lexington, Kentucky became the Cigar Mile Handicap's main sponsor in 2005. The record for the fastest time in the Cigar Mile Handicap was set in 2006 by Discreet Cat ridden by Garrett Gomez and trained by Saeed bin Suroor - for Sheikh Mohammed's Godolphin racing operation.

Only one horse has ever won the Cigar Mile Handicap twice and that was Congaree in 2002 and 2003 ridden both times by Jerry Bailey and trained by Bob Baffert. Trainer Baffert has won three Cigar Mile Handicaps: in 2000, 2002 and 2003, as has Todd A. Pletcher: in 2001, 2004 and 2005.

Two owners have celebrated two wins in the Cigar Mile Handicap: Michael B. Tabor in 2001 with Left Bank and 2004 with Lion Tamer, and Stonerside Stable in 2002 and 2003 with Congaree. Since the Cigar Mile Handicap's inauguration, it has only been cancelled once and that was in 1993.

Cigar Mile Handicap - Past Winners

2003 Congaree
2004 Lion Tamer
2005 Purge
2006 Discreet Cat
2007 Daaher

Cigar Mile Handicap - Betting

Arlington Million preview

Arlington Million preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Tampa Bay Derby
  • San Miguel Stakes
  • Rushaway Stakes
  • Lanes End Stakes
  • Arkansas Derby
  • Lexington Stakes
  • Blue Grass Stakes
  • Bay Shore Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:10:24 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011