Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Champion Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Champion Stakes 1 Newmarket Racecourse Champion stakes

Champion Stakes

The Champion Stakes is a British Grade 1 flat horse race for thoroughbred horses three-years-old and older and is run in October each year at the historical Newmarket Racecourse in England. Run over 1 mile 2 furlongs on Newmarket's Rowley Mile course, the Champion Stakes has been run in the UK since 1877.

As one of Britain's most prestigious horse races, the Champion Stakes has attracted many top thoroughbreds, jockeys and trainers over the years. While a total of nine horses have won the Champion Stakes twice, only one horse - Tristan - has won the turf race an impressive three times, back in 1882, 1883 and 1884.

The inaugural Champion Stakes was won by a horse called Springfield, who set the imaginations of British horseracing fans alight, ensuring that the coveted race would survive two World Wars, many changes in the Monarchy and the government and continue to be highly regarded until today in British horseracing circles.

Between 1984 and 2007 only one horse has succeeded in winning the Champion Stakes twice, and that was Triptych who ran home victorious in 1986 and 1987 under the able guidance of Champion Thoroughbred horse racing jockey Tony Cruz. He rode Triptych for French-born racehorse trainer Patrick Biancone.

During the same period the fastest time yet recorded in the Champion Stakes was 2:01.04 set in 1984 by three-year-old Palace Music. He was ridden by Yves Saint-Martin for trainer Patrick Biancone on behalf of owner Nelson Bunker Hunt. Today the Champion Stakes carries a purse of 375,000 pounds ($668,000).

Champion Stakes - Past Winners

2003 Rakti
2004 Haafhd
2005 David Junior
2006 Pride
2007 Literato

Champion Stakes - Betting

Champion stakes preview

Champion stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Cesarewitch Handicap
  • Phoenix Stakes
  • Racing Post Trophy
  • Dewhurst Stakes
  • King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:15:21 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011