Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Champagne Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Champagne Stakes 1 Belmont Park champagne stakes

Champagne Stakes

The Champagne Stakes is an American Grade 1 flat horse race for two-year-old thoroughbreds and is run annually in October at Belmont Park on dirt over a distance of 1 mile. Inaugurated in 1867, the Champagne Stakes is the oldest and most historical race of its kind on the American horseracing calendar today.

It was named after the British Champagne Stakes, a race that has been run annually at Doncaster Racecourse in South Yorkshire, England since 1823. The (US) Champagne Stakes is part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge 'Win and You're In' series, which sees the winner automatically qualify for the Breeders' Cup Juvenile.

The first Champagne Stakes was run at Jerome Park Racetrack where it was held until 1889. It was then moved to the Morris Park Racetrack and run there until 1904. From 1905 until the present, Belmont Park in Elmont, New York has been the main home of the prestigious Champagne Stakes, except for a few years.

In 1959, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967 and 1984 the Champagne Stakes was run at New York's Aqueduct Racetrack. Over the years this race has seen plenty of top horses, trainers and jockeys strutting their stuff, including Braulio Baeza who has ridden the most winners with five - in 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967 and 1975.

Notable Champagne winners include Triple Crown Champions Count Fleet (1946) and Seattle Slew (1977), and American Horse of the Year in 1978 and 1979, Affirmed (who lived to the ripe old age of 26). Many other Champagne Stakes winners have gone on to earn themselves places in the Racing and Hall of Fame.

Champagne Stakes - Past Winners

2003 Birdstone
2004 Proud Accolade
2005 First Samurai
2006 Scat Daddy
2007 War Pass

Champagne Stakes - Betting

champagne stakes preview

champagne stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes
  • Norfolk Stakes
  • Oak Leaf Stakes
  • Vosburgh Stakes
  • Yellow Ribbon Stakes
  • Joe Hirsch Turf Classic Invitational Stakes
  • Lady's Secret Stakes
  • Goodwood Stakes at Oak Tree

  • 2014/02/16 01:09:10 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011