Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Cesarewitch Handicap

Race Name Grade Track
Cesarewitch Handicap Handicap Newmarket Racecourse Cesarewitch Handicap

Cesarewitch Handicap

The Cesarewitch Handicap is a historical English flat horse race for thoroughbred horses aged three years and above. It is run annually in October at the revered Newmarket Racecourse in Suffolk over a distance of 2 miles 2 furlongs over turf. The Cesarewitch Handicap was inaugurated in 1839.

The Cesarewitch Handicap was named in honor of the Russian Crown Prince, the Tsesarevich (heir apparent to the emperor of Russia) who visited the United Kingdom not long before. (In 1855 he was appointed Tsar Alexander II of Russia upon the death of his father Nicholas I).

Apart from its rich and colorful heritage, what makes the Cesarewitch Handicap so interesting is that for such a lengthy race it is run straight for most of the way except for a single bend at the 10 furlong mark. The course it follows straddles two English counties - Cambridgeshire and Suffolk.

This means that the field sets off in Cambridgeshire and crosses the finish line in Suffolk. The Cambridgeshire Handicap - which is run at Newmarket two weeks earlier - and the Cesarewitch Handicap are called the 'Autumn Double', a pair of races that British racehorse owners, trainers and jockeys set out to win.

Over the years the Cesarewitch Handicap has seen many of Britain's top jockeys riding home in first, including British racing legend Lester Piggott who won the race in 1976 and 1980, Scotsman Willie Carson who won in 1982, 1988 and 1990, and Irishman Johnny Murtagh who won on Leg Spinner in 2007.

Cesarewitch Handicap - Past Winners

2003 Landing Light
2004 Contact Dancer
2005 Sergeant Cecil
2006 Detroit City
2007 Leg Spinner

Cesarewitch Handicap - Betting

Cesarewitch Handicap preview

Cesarewitch Handicap preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Champion Stakes
  • Phoenix Stakes
  • Racing Post Trophy
  • Dewhurst Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:15:21 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011