Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Caulfield Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Caulfield Stakes 1 Caulfield Racecourse Caulfield Stakes

Caulfield Stakes

The Caulfield Stakes is a Gr 1 Australian weight-for-age horse race contested over 2000m in October each year at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. Also known as the Yalumba Stakes, the Caulfield Stakes offers a purse of AUD$400,000 and is part of the three-day Melbourne Spring racing carnival.

The Caulfield Stakes is always run on the first day of the Spring racing carnival, which is known colloquially as 'Guineas Day'. On the same day two other great Gr 1 races are run - the 1600m Caulfield Guineas and the 1600m Toorak Handicap. All three races attract top-quality runners.

The Caulfield Stakes was inaugurated in 1886, so it is a much-celebrated race in Melbourne and one which is steeped in tradition and history. As such, it has boasted many great fields over the years, and yielded many worthy winners. These include Isonomy, inaugural race winner, and 1950s three-time winner, Lord.

Lord won the Caulfield Stakes in 1958, 1959 and in 1960 (when he shared the top honors with Dhaulagiri) and went on to notch up 80 starts during his career, including 28 victories, 13 second places and 11 third places. A popular horse of the time, Lord ran in weight-for-age races until the age of nine.

Far more recently, Lonhro dazzled when he won the Caulfield Stakes in 2002 and 2003, and went on to win many other top-rated Aussie races such as the Caulfield Guineas, the Australian Cup, the George Ryder Stakes, the George Main Stakes and the Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

Caulfield Stakes - Past Winners

2004 Mummify
2005 El Segundo
2006 Casual Pass
2007 Maldivian
2008 Douro Valley

Yalumba Stakes - Betting

Caulfield Stakes preview

Caulfield Stakes preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • George Main Stakes
  • Flight Stakes
  • Doncaster Handicap
  • Epsom Handicap
  • Caulfield Guineas
  • BMW Stakes
  • Australasian Oaks
  • Australian Cup

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:47 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011