Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Caulfield Guineas

Race Name Grade Track
Caulfield Guineas 1 Caulfield Racecourse Caulfield Guineas

Caulfield Guineas

The Caulfield Guineas is a Gr 1 Australian horse race contested over 1600m by three-year-old thoroughbreds under set weight conditions in October every year at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. The race currently offers a purse of AUD$1 million and is one of Melbourne's premier races for three-year-olds.

Inaugurated in 1881, the Caulfield Guineas has a rich and long heritage and is considered to be the most important race of Caulfield's three-day spring racing carnival. As such, it always attracts the who's who of the Melbourne horseracing scene, as well as droves of horseracing fans, never mind top runners.

Every year the Caulfield Guineas boasts many of the most formidable colts and fillies from Victoria and often further afield, many of whom have gone on to win many more of the country's biggest races. Caulfield Guineas is always run on Saturday, which is the first day of the festive and exciting spring racing carnival.

Over the years there have been many worthy Caulfield Guineas victors, such as Heroic who won the race in 1924 and became one of the most beloved horses of his time. Entered into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame in 2003, Heroic won the Australian Derby, the Cox Plate, the Newmarket Handicap and more.

More recently, Vain (1969), Luskin Star (1977), Manikato (1978), Red Anchor (1984), Mahogany (1993), Lonhro (2001) and Weekend Hussler (2007) delivered memorable victories in the Caulfield Guineas. Weekend Hustler went on to win the Newmarket Handicap, the Makybe Diva Stakes and many others.

Caulfield Guineas - Past Winners

2004 Econsul
2005 God's Own
2006 Wonderful World
2007 Weekend Hussler
2008 Whobegotyou

Caulfield Guineas - Betting

Caulfield Guineas preview

Caulfield Guineas preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Flight Stakes
  • Doncaster Handicap
  • Epsom Handicap
  • Caulfield Stakes
  • BMW Stakes
  • Australasian Oaks
  • Australian Cup
  • Golden Slipper Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:55 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011