Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Blue Grass Stakes

Race Name Grade Track
Blue Grass Stakes 1 Keeneland Racecourse Blue Grass Stakes

Blue Grass Stakes

The Blue Grass Stakes is a Gr 1 American horse race contested over 1 1/8 miles on Polytrack by three-year-old thoroughbreds at Keeneland Racecourse in Lexington, Kentucky. Held in the middle of April each year, it currently offers a purse of $750,000 and is acknowledged as a prep race for the Kentucky Derby.

Inaugurated in 1911, the Blue Grass Stakes was named after Kentucky's Bluegrass region which itself was named after the area's indigenous grass that has blue/green stems This region is considered to be the heart of the American horseracing industry.

When the Blue Grass Stakes was first run, it was contested at the Kentucky Association racetrack in Lexington. This venue hosted the race from 1911 to 1914 and from 1919 until 1926 when it went on hiatus. In 1933 the Kentucky Association racetrack closed and its facilities were razed in 1935.

In 1937, the Blue Grass Stakes was revived at Keeneland Racecourse. In 1943 and 1944 it was made a part of the Keeneland-at-Churchill Downs meeting, while the following year it was run as part of the Churchill Downs meeting. Today, however, it is always held at Keeneland Racecourse.

The fastest winning time of the Blue Grass Stakes over 1 1/8 miles is 1:47.20 set by Skip Away in 1996. The jockey with the most wins is the legendary Bill 'Willie' Shoemaker who won the race 6 times - the first time in 1959 and the last time in 1982. Four trainers have each won the race three times.

Blue Grass Stakes - Past Winners

2004 The Cliff's Edge
2005 Bandini
2006 Sinister Minister
2007 Dominican
2008 Monba

Blue Grass Stakes - Betting

Blue Grass Stakes preview


Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Lanes End Stakes
  • Cigar Mile Handicap
  • Arkansas Derby
  • Lexington Stakes
  • Bay Shore Stakes
  • Illinois Derby
  • Louisiana Derby
  • Rebel Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:07:27 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011