Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Australian Cup

Race Name Grade Track
Australian Cup 1 Flemington Racecourse Australian Cup

Australian Cup

The Australian Cup is a Gr 1 Weight for Age horserace for two-year-old Australian thoroughbred colts, geldings and fillies, contested over 2000m at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne in March every year. It currently offers a purse of AUD$1,005,000 and is one of the oldest and most prestigious races in Australia.

Inaugurated in 1862, the Australian Cup is renowned for attracting the nation's best two-year-olds, as well as top trainers and most talented jockeys. Being that it is such an old and historical race, the Australian Cup has been run over a variety of distances in its history.

For instance, according to racing records from 1863 until 1942 the Australian Cup was run over 3600m (18 furlongs). From 1943 until 1962 it was run over 3500m (17 furlongs) and in 1963 over 3200m (2 miles). From 1964 until now it has been contested over 2000m (10 furlongs).

The race was run as a handicap from 1982 until 1986, and in 2007 it was run at Melbourne's Caulfield Racecourse. Since 1862 six horses have won the Australian Handicap twice - Woodman, Welkin Prince Craftsman, Ming Dynasty, Vo Rogue, and most recently Northerley in 2001 and 2003.

The 2005 Australian Cup winner, Makybe Diva, is one of the most successful Australian thoroughbreds in recent times. She was named Australian Racehorse of the Year in 2005 and 2006, Australian Champion Filly and Mare in 2005, and Australian Middle Distance Champion in 2006. She was inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame in 2006.

Australian Cup - Past Winners

2005 Makybe Diva
2006 Roman Arch
2007 Pompeii Ruler
2008 Sirmione
2009 Niconero

Australian Cup - Betting

Australian Cup preview

Australian Cup preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Caulfield Stakes
  • Caulfield Guineas
  • BMW Stakes
  • Australasian Oaks
  • Golden Slipper Stakes
  • Australian Derby
  • AJC Sires Produce Stakes
  • Randwick Guineas

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:54 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011