Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Australasian Oaks

Race Name Grade Track
AJC Australasian Oaks 1 Morphettville Racecourse Australasian Oaks

Australasian Oaks

The Australasian Oaks is a Gr 1 Australian set weights horserace raced by three-year-old fillies in April (although up until 2006 it was run in May). Run over 2000m at Adelaide's Morphettville Racecourse, which is also the headquarters of the South Australian Jockey Club, the race offers a purse of AUD$250,000.

Since its inauguration in 1982, the Australasion Oaks has been a favorite race for many of Australia's leading trainers and owners, as well as runners. For instance, the inaugural race was won by a talented filly called Rose of Kingston, who was named Australian Horse of the Year the previous year.

Upon her retirement, Rose of Kingston went on to become a broodmare and was responsible for foaling 1990 Melbourne Cup winner Kingston Rule, by superb American Triple Crown winner, Secretariat. Secretariat was inducted into the U.S. Racing Hall of Fame in 1974 and the Kentucky Athletic Hall of Fame in 2007.

Other more recent Australasion Oaks winners include 2008 winner Zarita, who's triumph in the race was her third consecutive after chalking up wins in Melbourne in the Armanasco Stakes (Gr 2) at Caulfield Racecourse and the A.V. Kewney Stakes (Gr 2) at Flemington Racecourse. Sadly, Zarita was scratched from the 2008 Melbourne Cup after contracting a virus.

The winner of the 2009 Australasion Oaks was a talented Mick Price-trained filly called Gallica, who delivered a highly memorable performance by dominating the race from start to finish. Her victory cemented her reputation as a solid Gr 1 winner.

Australasian Oaks - Past Winners

2005 Irish Darling
2006 Marju Snip
2007 Anamato
2008 Zarita
2009 Gallica

Australasian Oaks - Betting

Australasian Oaks preview

Australasian Oaks preview

Bookmaker.com Review

5Dimes.com Review

Other Articles:
  • Epsom Handicap
  • Caulfield Stakes
  • Caulfield Guineas
  • BMW Stakes
  • Australian Cup
  • Golden Slipper Stakes
  • Australian Derby
  • AJC Sires Produce Stakes

  • 2014/02/16 01:13:54 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011