Upcoming Races
Kentucky Derby
Horse Racing Guide
Horse Racing News
Online Racebooks
USA Horse Racing
UK Horse Racing
Australian Horse Racing
International Racing
UK Bookmakers
Horse Racing Meetings
Top Jockeys
Top Trainers
Top Owners
Top Race Courses
Live Horse Racing Odds
Horse Racing Betting
Horse Racing Strategy
Horse Racing Tips
Harness Racing
Horse Racing Glossary
Horse Racing Basics
Horse Racing Bets
Bet on Horse Racing
Race Book
Free Bets

Anton Marcus

Jockey Profile

Anton Marcus
Anton Marcus was born in the 1970's in South Africa. Horse Racing runs in his blood; his brother, Basil Marcus also being a highly successful jockey in both the local and international horse racing scenes.

Over the last 20 years, Marcus has consistently being one of South Africa's top jockeys. Throughout his career in South Africa, Marcus has won most of the big stakes races, but his most notable wins are those where he won the July Cup which is held annually in Durban. The Durban July is arguably South Africa's most prominent handicap race, and Marcus has managed to win the title 4 times. This is a modern day record that no one has yet managed to break. In the 1940's and early 50's, Harold 'Tiger' Wright also won the race 4 times.
Anton Marcus
Marcus won the Durban July in 1993, 2000, 2005 and 2007. Racing enthusiasts will be watching closely when the race is won this year to see if he will pull off a record 5th win.

The highlight of his career thus far surely has to be his outstanding win at the US$5 million Dubai Duty Free that was run on Dubai World Cup night in March this year on Jay Peg. The race in Dubai is worth approximately 12 times more than the Durban July, so increases his stakes earnings quite dramatically.

In the current 2008 season Marcus has had 457 starts with 118 wins. His total stakes earnings is on a record R10,070 985.

Anton Marcus- 10 Notable Wins

2008 - Dubai Duty Free (Jay Peg)

2008 - Horse Chestnut Stakes(Our Giant)

2008 - KZN Guineas (Hunting Tower)

2007 - Tommy Hotspur handicap (Mocha Java)

2007 - Cape Guineas (Jay Peg)

2007 - Durban July (Hunting Tower)

2007 - GommaGomma Challenge (Pick Six)

2006 - Gold Challenge (National Spirit)

2006 - PG Bison SA Nursery (Warm White Night)

2005 - Golden Horseshoe (Ndabeni)

2005 - Cape Flying Championship (Nhlavini)

Other Articles:
  • Kent Desormeaux
  • Garrett Gomez
  • Felix Coetzee
  • Jamie Spencer
  • Ron Turcotte
  • Steve Cauthen
  • Damien Oliver
  • Bill Shoemaker

  • 2014/02/16 01:16:42 AM
    Copyright © RaceHorseOwner 2002-2011